Home Cricket BBL winners over the years

BBL winners over the years

BBL winners

 Ninth season and is basking brightest in its glory

The Big Bash League is in its 9th season and is basking brightest in its glory. The history of the tournament is also fascinating as 6 out of the 8 teams have won the tournament at least once. 

Among them, Perth Scorchers are the most successful of the lot with three titles. With that in mind, let us have a look at the teams that have won the competition in the past.

BBL 1 – Sydney Sixers

Sydney Sixers won the first-ever season of the BBL after defeating Perth Scorchers in the final. Their journey to the final was also impressive as they finished third in the group with 10 points from 7 matches, winning 5 and losing just twice. 

Hobart Hurricanes and Scorchers were also on 10 points but had a better net-run-rate, which is why they finished above the Sixers. The side from Sydney faced the Hobart outfit in the semis and defeated them by 7 runs to reach the final. 

In the finals, the Sixers chased down 157 with utmost ease and won the game by 7 wickets to become the first-ever champions of the Big Bash League. 

BBL 2 – Brisbane Heat

In the second season of BBL, Brisbane Heat emerged victorious after defeating Perth Scorchers in the final. Heat finished fourth in the league phase, owing to the fact that they had a better net-run-rate than Adelaide Strikers and Hobart Hurricanes. 

They then beat league champions Melbourne Renegades in the semis before defeating Scorchers in the final by 34 runs to hand them their second final defeat in a row.

BBL 3 – Perth Scorchers

After two consecutive losses in the final, Perth Scorchers found luck the third time when they beat Hobart Hurricanes to become champions for the first time in their history. 

They finished third in the league phase and then beat inaugural champions Sydney Sixers in the semi-final before taking on the Hurricanes in the ultimate match of the tournament. 

This time, they ensured that they didn’t lose as they comfortably stopped the Hurricanes and won the final by 39 runs. 

BBL 4 – Perth Scorchers

Perth Scorchers became the first side to win the BBL two times and they did it in consecutive years when they beat Sydney Sixers in the finals. They finished the league phase placed second on the table and faced Melbourne Stars in the semis. 

After overcoming the Stars, they took on Sydney Sixers in the final and managed to beat them by four wickets in what turned out to be a crunching final won in the very last ball. 

BBL 5 – Sydney Thunder

Sydney Thunder won their first title in the 5th edition of the tournament, which was also the first time when the Scorchers failed to reach the final since the inception of the tournament. 

Thunder finished fourth in the table and then went on to beat Adelaide Strikers in the semi-final before defeating Melbourne Stars in the final of the competition by three wickets. 

BBL 6 – Perth Scorchers

Once again, Perth Scorchers emerged victorious to take their tally to three BBL trophies, making them the most successful team in the tournament by a mile. They ended as the league champions and then beat Melbourne Stars in the semis. 

After that, they faced the Sixers in the final and defeated them in the most convincing fashion as they chased down a target of 142 in just 15.5 overs to do the unprecedented and lift the trophy for the third time. 

BBL 7 – Adelaide Strikers

The Strikers won the tournament for the first time in the 7th season of the BBL after defeating Hobart Hurricanes in the final. The Adelaide outfit finished second in the league phase. 

After that, they faced Melbourne Renegades in the semi-final to beat them by five wickets. Then, in the final, the beat the Hurricanes in a convincing fashion as they posted a score of 202 on board while the Hobart outfit could muster only 177. 

BBL 8 – Melbourne Renegades

BBL 8 was the first time Perth Scorchers failed to finish in the top four. It was also the first time that the Renegades won the title as they defeated Melbourne Stars to it. 

After finishing second in the league phase, they faced Sydney Sixers and beat them by three wickets. After that, they took on Melbourne Stars in the final and beat them by 13 runs to become the reigning and defending champions of the Big Bash League.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here