Home Sports Mzansi Super League 2019 – Season roundup

Mzansi Super League 2019 – Season roundup

Manzi Super League

A roundup of an Exciting Mzansi Super League Season

The Mzansi Super League 2019 ended with Paarl Rocks winning the competition after overcoming Tshwane Spartans in the final. After 32 matches, Paarl Rocks stamped themselves as the best franchise in South Africa. 

The tournament began with Jozi Stars taking on Cape Town Blitz. The Stars had won the previous edition of the tournament but ended with no wins to their name this year. 

Meanwhile, Paarl Rocks displayed their superiority from the word go as they were the best side in the league phase. They won 6 out of the 10 matches that they played and ended up as the league champions with 27 points from 10 matches. 

Nelson Mandela Bay Giants, too, were equally as good as Paarl Rocks as they also earned 27 points from 10 matches but their inferior net-run-rate meant that they finished second in the table. 

As a result, the Bay Giants had to play Tshwane Spartans in the eliminator. The Spartans had finished third in the league phase with 23 points from 10 matches and managed to slay the Giants in the eliminator to make a place in the final of the tournament. 

The final

In the final, Paarl Rocks won the toss and decided to put the opposition to bat. The pitch at Boland Park in Paarl was a good one to bat on, which means that it was a wise decision from the home side to chase. 

Spartans, meanwhile, lost opener Tony de Zorzi quickly but had AB de Villiers come in next. The former South Africa international played a great innings of 51 from 37 balls but couldn’t take it further as Isuru Udana knocked out his stumps.

Dean Elgar and Heinrich Klaasen, meanwhile, got decent starts as they made 22 and 21 runs, respectively, but never got going with the scoring rate. In fact none of the batsmen – apart from ABD – were able to score at an acceptable rate, which is why the Spartans finished with only 147 runs on board, which was never an adequate score in the first place. 

And after a while, that was just proven as a fact since Paarl Rocks chased down the total with the utmost ease. Henry Davids and Cameron Delport gave the team a great start with an 80 run opening partnership. 

Davids, especially, was incredible as he went hard at the opposition from the word go, finishing with 77 runs from just 44 balls while staying unbeaten in the process. 

Dwaine Pretorius came in at number three and took a lot of pressure away from Davids as he scored 43 runs from 21 balls to take the match away from the Spartans. 

In the end, it was a comfortable 8 wicket win for Paarl Rocks, who won the competition for the first time in their history. 

Here is a look at some statistics of the tournament…

Top scorers

AB de Villiers – 325 runs

Janneman Malan – 358 runs

Ben Dunk – 415 runs

Top wicket-takers

Dale Steyn – 15 wickets

Tabraiz Shamsi – 16 wickets

Imran Tahir – 17 wickets

Most sixes 

Liam Livingstone – 15 

Ben Dunk – 17 

Janneman Malan – 22 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here